White House vows to work to repeal pride flag ban passed with spending bill – Washington Examiner

The White House has vowed to try and repeal a new ban on most non-U.S. flags flying above American embassies.

The ban, which effectively barred the flying of LGBT pride flags over U.S. embassies, was passed as part of the $1.2 trillion spending bill President Joe Biden signed into law on Saturday.

“President Biden believes it was inappropriate to abuse the process that was essential to keep the government open by including this policy targeting LGBTQI+ Americans,” the White House said.

“While it will have no impact on the ability of members of the LGBTQI+ community to serve openly in our embassies or to celebrate pride, the administration fought against the inclusion of this policy and we will continue to work with members of Congress to find an opportunity to repeal it,” the statement added.

Some U.S. embassies displayed pride flags during the Obama administration, a practice that was ended when Donald Trump took office. The Biden administration then reversed the policy again after taking office.

But the rule is now codified into U.S. law due to a provision of the new spending bill. Biden says he fought several similar measures that were not ultimately included in the law.

“We were successful in defeating 50-plus other policy riders attacking the LGBTQI+ community that Congressional Republicans attempted to insert into the legislation,” the statement reads. “President Biden is committed to fighting for LGBTQI+ equality at home and abroad.”


The ban is not specific to LGBT flags and bans most flags other than the American flag from display above U.S. embassies. However, it also does not stop other flags from being displayed elsewhere on the premises.

Flags that are still allowed to be flown over U.S. embassies include the U.S. flag, the POW/MIA flag, the Hostage and Wrongful Detainee flag, the flag of a state, the flag of an Indian Tribal government, and an officially branded flag of a U.S. agency or the sovereign flag of other countries.